SCOTLAND coach Philip Doyle has reshuffled both his forward pack and his backs for tomorrow’s Autumn Test against Japan at Scotstoun, making four changes in personnel from the side that began last weekend’s defeat by Wales as well as making some positional alterations.

Prop Lisa Cockburn and flanker Rachel McLachlan come into the pack, with the former taking over from the injured Megan Kennedy and McLachlan being introduced at openside as an indirect replacement for hooker Jodie Rettie. Captain Rachel Malcom, who played at 7 against the Welsh, moves up to hooker, while Louise McMillan shifts from openside to the blind.

In the back division, Hannah Smith returns at outside centre after missing out last week because of injury, and Jenny Maxwell is at scrum-half instead of Mhairi Grieve. Lisa Thomson moves from 13 to 12 to accommodate Smith, Helen Nelson switches from 12 to 10, and Lisa Martin drops out.

On the bench, front-row forwards Izzy Drexler and Anne Young are both in line to make their debuts. Backs Sarah Denholm and Evie Tonkin, who both won their first caps as substitutes last week, are again included in the 23.

“We’re all really looking forward to playing Japan,” Doyle said. “They are an exciting team and it is great to be able to develop the relationship between the two unions even further.

“We’ve suffered a few injuries since last week so have brought in a couple of players to the squad. Anne Young came to South Africa with us, so it’s a good opportunity to bring her back into the squad. Issy Drexler is new to the squad and I’m keen to see how she works alongside some of her Watsonians team-mates if she makes it on to the field.”

Scotland (v Japan at Scotstoun, Sunday, 1pm): C Rollie (Harlequins); R Lloyd (Loughborough Lightning), H Smith (Watsonians), L Thomson (Darlington Mowden Park), M Gaffney (Watsonians); H Nelson (Loughborough Lightning), J Maxwell (Loughborough Lightning); Lisa Cockburn (Darlington Mowden Park), R Malcolm (captain, Loughborough Lightning), M Forsyth (Corstorphine Cougars), E Wassell (Corstorphine Cougars), S Bonar (Loughborough Lightning), L McMillan (Hillhead Jordanhill), R McLachlan (Darlington Mowden Park), J Konkel (Harlequins). Substitutes: I Drexler (Watsonians), P Muzambe (Edinburgh University/Watsonians), A Young (Edinburgh University), C Belisle (Cartha Queen’s Park), E Tonkin (Darlington Mowden Park), M Grieve (Firwood Waterloo), S Denholm (Edinburgh University), A Evans (Darlington Mowden Park).