HUNGARIAN prime minister Viktor Orban said his “decisive” re-election victory and the super majority in parliament his right-wing populist party appears to have won on Sunday were “an opportunity to defend Hungary.”

Critics said they feared Orban will use his third consecutive term and the Fidesz party’s two-thirds control of Hungary’s national legislature to intensify his attacks on migration and to strengthen his command of the country’s centralised power structure.

Hungary’s remaining independent media, the courts that have made numerous rulings the government did not like and a university founded by Hungarian-American billionaire George Soros, also are among Mr Orban’s likely targets.

“We created the opportunity for ourselves to defend Hungary,” Orban told a crowd after his landslide win. “A great battle is behind us. We have achieved a decisive victory.”

With 98.5 per cent of the votes counted, Fidesz and its small ally, the Christian Democrat party, together had secured 133 of the 199 seats in parliament, the minimum needed for a two-thirds majority.

The right-wing nationalist Jobbik party placed second with 26 seats, while a Socialist-led, left-wing coalition came in third with 20 seats.

“As the results stand, Fidesz performed much better than expected,” Tamas Boros, co-director of the Policy Solutions think tank, said. “There were no small victories for the opposition.”

Orban won his fourth term overall on a platform that openly demonises migrants to Europe. He first governed in 1998-2002 before returning to power in 2010 after two terms of scandal-filled Socialist rule.

Fidesz won a two-thirds majority in 2010 and 2014, but lost it in by-elections in 2015.

Orban campaigned heavily on anti-migration policies. He repeated his theory of a conspiracy between the opposition and the UN, the EU and wealthy philanthropist Soros to turn Hungary into an “immigrant country,” threatening its security and Christian identity.

The exact size of Orban’s margin of victory is not yet clear. Final results are expected by April 27.