A MULTI-PARTY General Election debate is set to take place on the BBC on Friday evening.

A number of senior figures will be taking part on a tough day for the Tories as Rishi Sunak comes in for fierce criticism on dodging a D-Day event to take part in an ITV interview.

Here’s all you need to know.

When is the debate?

The debate will be broadcast from 7.30pm to 9pm and will feature a studio audience who will be able to pose questions.

It will be available to watch on BBC One and on BBC iPlayer.

Who is taking part?

The debate is to be moderated by Mishal Husain and, at the end of the debate, each participant will be asked to give a 30-second long statement.

Here’s who’s taking part on behalf of each party:

  • SNP – Stephen Flynn
  • Conservatives – Penny Mordaunt
  • Green Party – Carla Denyer
  • Labour – Angela Rayner
  • Liberal Democrats – Daisy Cooper
  • Plaid Cymru – Rhun ap Iorwerth
  • Reform UK – Nigel Farage

As well as tonight’s debate, the BBC will also be hosting a Question Time leaders’ special on June 20.

It also confirmed dates for a series of interviews with the leaders of the UK’s main political parties – apart from Keir Starmer.