LABOUR have won a by-election in West Lothian beating the SNP by just a few hundred votes. 

The Broxburn, Uphall and Winchburgh ballot was called after Labour councillor Ann Davidson sadly passed away following a short illness in September.

Davidson was elected to the post in May 2022 and described as a “very popular and respected” woman in the local community.

And now, following the December 1 poll, Labour candidate Tony Boyle will join West Lothian Council.

READ MORE: Inside Ian Blackford's resignation: 'He jumped before he was pushed'

West Lothian Council said: "Results for the Broxburn, Uphall and Winchburgh by-election are in, with Tony Boyle (Scottish Labour Party) elected as councillor."

Eight candidates in total stood in the poll, one from each of the five main Holyrood parties, one from Alba, and two independents.

Boyle was elected after eight rounds, but won 1783 first preference votes, while SNP candidate Thomas Ullathorne returned 1576.

Tory candidate Douglas Smith had the third most first preference votes, with 347, while those from the other parties and independents returned less than 300 each. 

Debbie Ewen, Alba's candidate, had the lowest number of first preference votes, returning only 81. 

The local authority confirmed a voter turnout of 27.7%. 

After the results were announced, Scottish Labour tweeted: "Congratulations to Tony Boyle for his win in Broxburn, Uphill and Winchburgh!

"Well done to the dedicated team who worked hard campaigning for Tony.

"It's clear that Scotland are [is] tired of the status quo - and Labour will be the change we need."

Monica Lennon, Scottish Labour MSP for Central Scotland, added: "Delighted to hear this! 

"Well deserved win by Tony Boyle for @ScottishLabour."

READ MORE: Sunak flunks first electoral test as Labour wins Chester by-election

Meanwhile, Paul O'Kane, Scottish Labour MSP for West Scotland, said: "Congratulations Tony Boyle on your win for @ScottishLabour
 in Broxburn, Uphall and Winchburgh!

"A great campaign, a great team and great news for a Friday morning!"

Fiona Hyslop, SNP MSP for Linlithgow (constituency), added: "Congratulations to former Cllr for the ward Tony Boyle on winning the Broxburn, Uphall and Winchburgh by-election holding the seat for Labour.

"Big thanks to SNP candidate @TomU_SNP and team for such strong campaign and result."

Scottish Labour now retains its 12 seats won in May and therefore the minority administration, secured by a loose coalition with four Tory councillors, one LibDem and one independent.

The SNP returned the largest number of councillors, 15, at the local authority elections but did not secure a majority.

In Broxburn, Uphall and Winchburgh the SNP returned two councillors with 41.9% of the vote share, while Scottish Labour returned 29.6%. 

In November, Glasgow's Labour group held onto the seat of its former leader Malcolm Cunning after he died in September. 

Scottish Labour candidate John Carson was elected as representative for the Linn ward ahead of the SNP's Christ Lang-Tait.