THE Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Award is returning for its eleventh year and is opening for submissions from artists and fans.

This year’s awards ceremony will take place at the Albert Halls in Stirling on October 20. The winner receives £20,000 while runners-up receive £1000.

Last year’s winner, was Mogwai’s As The Love Continues. Band member Stuart Braithwaite said: “Winning the SAY Award last year was a huge honour for Mogwai.

“To be recognised by a panel of peers in this way meant the world to us as a band, particularly given the quality of the other musicians on both the longlist and shortlist.

“Scotland continues to produce a plethora of great musicians making outstanding work year on year so for us to win this award is humbling in the extreme.”

READ MORE: Martin Compston in talks to team up with Irvine Welsh and star as Irish Republican leader

Robert Kilpatrick, creative director of the Scottish Music Industry Association (SMIA), said: “As we now move into a post-Covid landscape, the SAY Award’s role in celebrating Scottish music and the cultural contribution of albums proves more crucial than ever.

“Artists and music industry professionals are working hard to recover from the significant impacts of the pandemic, and whilst many challenges are thankfully now behind us, the cultural landscape remains in many ways fractured.

“With many turbulent external factors still at play, resilience, innovation and a sheer determination to highlight the power and value of music is fundamental to Scotland’s cultural recovery.”

Tiny Changes, set up following the suicide of Frightened Rabbit’s Scott Hutchison, will be the award’s charity partner for 2022.

Artists, labels and fans can submit eligible albums at until midnight on July 22.

Once all eligible albums have been collated, 100 impartial “nominators” chosen from sectors including journalism, music retail and music venues across Scotland will help decide a longlist.

This will be whittled down to a shortlist of 10 albums, one of which will be chosen by music fans via a 72-hour online public vote.