SCOTTISH celebrities, artists, and speakers gathered in Dundee for the Scots Language Awards on Saturday.

The audience attended Broughty Ferry’s Gardyne Theatre for the first time since before lockdown.

They were treated to interviews with the winners of 13 awards, and writer, broadcaster and National columnist Alistair Heather hosted the evening.

Poet and social media star Len Pennie introduced live performances from Victoria McNulty, Anna Stewart, Cameron Nixon, Alison Miller, and Ellie Beaton. Public voting on the nominees was open from September 6 to 19 with a record number of votes cast.

READ MORE: Iona Fyfe: 'Pride of Scotland'? Our Scots Leid is being ignored

The awards recognise the heroic efforts and work of the people and organisations who all champion Scots’ unique culture, music and words.

Cabinet Secretary for Scotland’s Languages Shirley-Anne Somerville said: “These awards demonstrate that Scots is a vital part of this country’s cultural identity, and it is crucial we encourage and nurture the creativity of those who speak the language.”

Winners included The Scots Champion Award presented to John Hodgart, and the Janet Paisley Services to Scots Award, sponsored by Creative Scotland, which this year went to Derrick McClure (below).

The National:

Karen Dick, head of place, partnerships and communities at Creative Scotland said: “Scots Language is an important part of our history and culture with rich oral traditions still very much alive in song, drama and storytelling.

“It’s terrific to see these awards celebrating and showcasing the creativity and excellence of those championing the Scots Language today. Huge congratulations Derrick McClure, the winner of the Janet Paisley Lifetime Achievement Award which we are pleased to support in recognition of his lifelong commitment to the language.”

READ MORE: Calls for a Scots language act as attacks on speakers increase

Building on the success since launching in 2019 of the high-profile Awards, social media campaigns, regular Blether wi’ Heather podcasts, and the annual Wee Gaitherin’ which takes place around the Ceremony Event founder Simon Thoumire of organisers Hands Up For Trad said: “I’m thrilled by the growth of our ongoing campaign for Scots Language, to be holding our first live event in Dundee with everybody, and at the calibre of this year’s brilliant winners for the 2021’s Scots Language Awards.”

Bruce Eunson of Education Scotland added: “Anither year o brilliant projects, organisations, individuals an mair! Lovely ta hae the chance ta git aabody an aa the important wark thegither in wan room fir a right good fun! Wi sae mony interestin pieces o wark happenin it maks wis at Education Scotland aafil blyde ta be involved an ta sponsor the Young Scriever o the Year agayn.”

The full list of winners:

Scots Project o the Year sponsored by Scots Hoose – Scots Dictionary for Schools app

Scots Bairns Book o the Year sponsored by Scottish Government – The Glasgow Gruffalo’s Wean, by Elaine C. Smith

Scots Speaker o the Year sponsored by Scots Language Centre – Iona Fyfe

Scots Performer o’ the Year sponsored by Traditional Arts & Culture Scotland (TRACS) – Len Pennie

Scots Teacher o the Year sponsored by Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA) – Kerry Fraser, Perth High School

Scots Book o the Year sponsored by Scottish Book Trust – The Young Team by Graeme Armstrong (Picador)

Scots Champion Award – John Hodgart

Scots Business o the Year sponsored by Scots Language Society – Lidl

Scots Schuil o the Year sponsored by Itchy Coo/Black & White Publishing – Troqueer Primary School, Dumfries

Janet Paisley Lifetime Achievement Award, sponsored by Creative Scotland – Derrick McClure

Young Scots Writer o’ the Year sponsored by Education Scotland – Hope and Lucy Freeman

Scots Media Person o the Year sponsored by Dictionaries of the Scots LanguageLittlest Chicken

Scots Writer o the Year sponsored by National Library of Scotland – Victoria McNulty