THE SNP have won a majority of votes in Argyll and Bute.

The SNP's Jenni Minto won the vote in the constituency with 16,608 votes, an increased majority of 8963 over the Conservatives.

There was a swing of 0.3% from the SNP to the Tories.

The seat had previously been held by former Constitution Secretary Mike Russell, who is stepping back from frontline politics. Minto increased his majority by almost 3000 votes.

LIVE: All the news from the Scottish Parliament election as seats are declared

Russell has held the seat for the SNP since 2011.

Russell told BBC news he was "utterly delighted" at Minto's win.

Minto tweeted: "Wow! What a fantastic result - thank you to all @theSNP activists in Argyll & Bute and to all who have put their trust in me in this, Scotland’s most beautiful constituency."

Tory candidate Donald Cameron achieved 7645 votes (22.8%), LibDem Alan Reid secured 6874 (20.5%) and Labour were in last place with 2436 votes (7.3%).

The constituency had a turnout of 68%, a change of 6.8% since the last Scottish Parliament election.