THE Scottish Greens have released their final list of candidates as the party hopes to win a record number of seats at the Holyrood election next month.

MSP hopefuls for the pro-independence party are standing in 12 constituencies across Scotland and in all eight regional lists.

Co-leaders Patrick Harvie and Lorna Slater have put themselves forward for the first-past-the-post seats of Glasgow Kelvin and Edinburgh North and Leith respectively.

Slater, who was widely praised for her performance on the BBC leaders' debate on Tuesday night, told The National the party was standing candidates in constituencies it had not done so previously.

"I'm pleased we are standing 12 candidates in constituency seats in May, giving some people the opportunity to vote Green in the constituency vote for the first time. I'm also proud of the fact that eight of these candidates are women, which reflects the hard work we have put in to support women to stand," she said.  

“Of course, everyone in Scotland will have the opportunity to vote like our future depends on it by voting Scottish Green on the regional list, and polls show every part of Scotland can elect a Green MSP in May.”

Here is the list of candidates for the regional list areas and the constituencies in full:  

Central Scotland

1 Gillian Mackay

2 Rosemary McGowan

3 Claire Williams

4 Tom McLaughlin

5 Patrick McAleer

6 Kyle Davidson

7 James Stuart Duffin


1 Patrick Harvie

2 Kim Long

3 Nadia Kanyange

4 Jon Molyneux

5 Dan Hutchison

6 Elaine Gallagher

7 Emma Cockburn

8 Anthony Carroll

9 Blair Anderson

10 Holly Bruce

11 Ellie Gomersall

12 Calum Mcintosh

Glasgow Kelvin - Patrick Harvie

Glasgow Provan - Kim Long

Glasgow Pollok - Nadia Kanyange

Highlands and Islands

1 Ariane Burgess

2 Anne Thomas

3 Fabio Villani

4 Steve Sankey

5 Debra Nicolson

6 Sand Owsnett

7 Topher Dawson

8 Lisa Jane Mead

9 Chris Ballance

10 Isabella Sumsion

11 Phyl Meyer

12 Luna Martin

Inverness and Nairn - Ariane Burgess


1 Alison Johnstone

2 Lorna Slater

3 Kate Nevens

4 Chas Booth

5 Steve Burgess

6 Alys Mumford

7 Emily Frood

8 Ben Parker

9 Elaine Gunn

10 Bill Wilson

11 Evelyn Weston

12 Alex Staniforth

Edinburgh Central - Alison Johnstone

Edinburgh Northern and Leith - Lorna Slater

Mid Scotland and Fife 

1 Mark Ruskell

2 Mags Hall

3 Marion Robertson

4 Fiona McOwan

5 Scott Rutherford

6 Jeroen van Leeuwen

7 Elspeth MacLachlan

8 Paul Vallot

9 Amy Smith

10 Craig McCutcheon

Cowdenbeath - Mags Hall

North East Scotland

1 Maggie Chapman

2 Guy Ingerson

3 Rachel Shanks

4 Leòdhas Iain Massie

5 Sylvia Hardie

6 Peter Kennedy

7 Bradley Booth

Aberdeen Central - Guy Ingerson

South Scotland

1 Laura Moodie

2 Barbra Harvie

3 Dominic Ashmole

4 Kath Malone

5 Charles Strang

6 Ciara Campbell

7 Peter Barlow

8 James K Puchowski

9 Tristan Gray

Galloway and West Dumfries - Laura Moodie

Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire - Barbra Harvie

Tweeddale and Lauderdale - Dominic Ashmole

West Scotland

1 Ross Greer

2 Carolynn Scrimgeour

3 Scott Bevan

4 Erin Crawley

5 Ross Collins

6 Emma Sheppard

7 Charley O'Hear

Paisley - Scott Bevan

Harvie told The National in an interview last month that the Greens are open to forming a coalition government with the SNP, with strategists from Nicola Sturgeon's party responding positively to the overture.