NICOLA Sturgeon has announced the results of the Government’s weekly review of Covid lockdown levels across Scotland.

The situation remains largely unchanged for 31 of the 32 Scottish local authority areas, with just East Lothian seeing a move.

The area, which encompasses Musselburgh, North Berwick, and Dunbar, will be downgraded from level 3 to level 2.

READ MORE: Another 41 people die in Scotland after contracting coronavirus

Midlothian was also rumoured to be a potential mover on the levels scale, but Sturgeon outlined that this “was dependent on current positive trends in this area continuing”. 

She added: “But unfortunately, over the last week we have seen an increase in case numbers and test positivity rates in Midlothian.

“We will continue to monitor the position in Midlothian and work together with the Council on its plans for ensuring that a move down is sustainable when the time is right.”

The First Minister said Midlothian case numbers have risen from 61 new cases per 100,000 to just over 97, with the "50% increase in one week" a "source of concern".

Outlining the current measures in place across the country, Sturgeon said while both Dumfries and Galloway and Argyll and Bute will remain in Level 2, falling prevalence in these areas could result in them being moved to Level 1 in the "coming weeks".

Cases have been rising in both Aberdeenshire and Aberdeen City, the First Minister said, but added these were attributed "in a large part" to specific outbreaks that are being managed.

As a result, she said there is no need for restrictions there to be increased from the current Level 2 status.

Meanwhile, Clackmannanshire and Perth and Kinross are being monitored carefully "given recent increases in these areas".

The announcement means that the lockdown levels across Scotland from Friday November 27 will be as follows:

Level 1:

Comhairle Nan Eilean Siar





Level 2:

Aberdeen City


Argyll and Bute


Dumfries and Galloway

East Lothian

Level 3:



Dundee City






North Ayrshire

Perth and Kinross

Level 4:

East Ayrshire

East Dunbartonshire

East Renfrewshire


North Lanarkshire


South Ayrshire

South Lanarkshire


West Dunbartonshire

West Lothian