ELEVEN local authority areas will face level 4 coronavirus restrictions as cases there remain high, the First Minister has confirmed.

Nicola Sturgeon gave an update on which level of Covid restrictions each Scottish area faces as part of the Scottish Government’s weekly review this afternoon.

The City of Glasgow, Renfrewshire, East Renfrewshire, East Dunbartonshire, West Dunbartonshire, North Lanarkshire, South Lanarkshire, East Ayrshire, South Ayrshire, Stirling and West Lothian are all moving into level 4 for a “limited period from Friday”.

READ MORE: Covid in Scotland: Scottish Government figures record 37 more deaths

Under level 4 restrictions - which are expected to end on December 11 - all restaurants, cafes, pubs and bars must close, although takeaways can operate as normal.

“Close contact services” like hairdressers, barbers and beauticians can not operate, while public sector buildings like libraries an community centres must also shut.

The First Minister added: "Except for some very limited purposes - including childcare, or caring for someone who is vulnerable; exercise; or shopping for essential goods - people living in level 4 areas should not be going out and about over this 3 week period."

READ MORE: Scotland lockdown: What are the restrictions in Level 4?

Schools will remain open, however, and people are permitted to meet others outdoors in a private garden or public place like a park. The maximum number of people who can meet would be six from two households.

The First Minister confirmed travel restrictions will be in place from Friday. She told the Chamber: "I can confirm that the guidance that has been in place in recent weeks will become law from Friday.

"That means people living in level 3 or level 4 must not travel outside their own council area, except for certain essential purposes.

"People living elsewhere in Scotland must not travel to level 3 or level 4 areas, except for essential purposes.

"And there must be no non-essential travel between Scotland and other parts of the UK."

The National:

Below are the levels in each area from Friday:

East Ayrshire – 4

North Ayrshire – 3

South Ayrshire – 4

Scottish Borders – 2

Dumfries and Galloway – 2

Fife – 3

Clackmannanshire – 3

Falkirk – 3

Stirling – 4

Moray – 1

Aberdeen City – 2

Aberdeenshire – 2

East Renfrewshire – 4

Inverclyde – 3

Renfrewshire – 4

West Dunbartonshire – 4

East Dunbartonshire – 4

Glasgow City – 4

Highland – 1

Argyll and Bute – 2

South Lanarkshire – 4

North Lanarkshire – 4

East Lothian – 2

Midlothian – 3

City of Edinburgh – 3

West Lothian – 4

Orkney Islands – 1

Shetland Islands – 1

Angus – 3

Dundee City – 3

Perth and Kinross – 3

Nah-Eileanan Siar - 1