THE SNP Common Weal Group convener has said he is “delighted” after its supporters won a third of party selection contests.

Craig Berry, the founder of the group which aims to share and debate progressive policies within the party, said the wins prove there is a “real appetite in the SNP grassroots for a Green New Deal and a just transition to a sustainable economy”.

Supporters of the group, including incumbent MSPs Ash Denham, Joan McAlpine, Christine Graham and Stuart McMillan, won 11 candidacies last night.

The group’s pledge for a resilient independent Scotland was also signed by candidates in more than half of the contested seats.

READ MORE: Former No voter sets up independence-supporting STEM group

The pledge sets out six key commitments including a Green New Deal, a National Care Service, land reform, tenants’ rights, public ownership and localised economic reform.

Berry, who is a researcher for the Common Weal think tank, said: “We are delighted that SNP members across Scotland have chosen progressive candidates who have pledged their commitment to a resilient independent Scotland.

"The SNP CWG is growing rapidly and we are organising with members across Scotland who share our ambitions for Scotland's future.

The National:

"We look forward to working with our candidates to win these seats, deliver independence and start building a future for Scotland that puts all of us first."

The full list of SNP Common Weal Group candidates are:

Stephanie Callaghan - Uddingston & Bellshill 
Robert Leslie - Orkney Islands
Ash Denham - Edinburgh Eastern 
Catriona MacDonald - Edinburgh Southern
Sarah Masson - Edinburgh Western 
Joan McAlpine - Dumfriesshire 
Paul McLennan - East Lothian 
Christine Graham - Midlothian South, Tweeddale & Lauderdale
Colm Merrick - Eastwood
Stuart McMillan - Greenock & Inverclyde 
Tom Wills - Shetland Islands

The (nearly) complete list of confirmed SNP candidates can be found here: Revealed: The full list of SNP candidates for the 2021 Holyrood election