DOUGLAS Ross has conceded defeat at next year’s Holyrood election on day one of his new job as Scottish Tory leader.

The Moray MP was installed as Jackson Carlaw’s successor today, facing no opposition.

He vowed to lead a party which merely provides “scrutiny and opposition” to the SNP, who are on track for a landslide victory.

SNP MP Tommy Sheppard said: “This is a gaffe royale, even by Douglas Ross’ standards. He has conceded defeat before the election has even been called yet. If that is the state of the new opposition, bring it on.”

READ MORE: Douglas Ross takes on third job, eyes up fourth and vows to lose election

Labour MSP Monica Lennon also picked up on the comment, made within hours of Ross becoming leader.

She tweeted: “Day one of being Scottish Tory leader and Douglas Ross concedes his party will be in opposition after the 2021 election.”

READ MORE: Why Douglas Ross' 'Boris-backing, Brexit-positive, anti-nat' ploy will fail

Ross, who intends to hold his Westminster seat until the end of the parliamentary term, is aiming to win a Holyrood seat at May’s ballot.

The professional football linesman also intends to keep up his officiating role.

After being crowned Scottish Tory leader today, he told Bauer Media: “My 100% commitment is representing the people of Scotland and I can do that effectively, both in Westminster as an MP, and with a strong team at Holyrood."

He added: “After the next election when I hope to be returned to Holyrood I hope to lead a strong, united Conservative Party which will provide that scrutiny and opposition to the SNP that we need in Scotland.”

READ MORE: Support for Scottish independence skyrockets in latest Panelbase poll

Panelbase polling carried out for the Sunday Times and published last month suggested the SNP are on course for a landslide victory.

In the constituency vote the SNP were on track to win 55%, with the Tories on 20%, Labour 15%, the LibDems on 6% and Greens on 3%.

In the regional proportional representation vote, the SNP were on 50%, the Tories on 18%, Labour 15%, the LibDems 6% and the Greens on 8%.