TRAVEL agents have expressed their disappointment that one of Scotland’s favourite holiday destinations, Portugal, continues to be left off the list of exempt countries for holidaymakers.

Five more countries were added to the list of those where travellers will no longer need to quarantine for 14 days on arrival back in Scotland.

Estonia, Latvia, Slovenia, Slovakia and St Vincent and the Grenadines were yesterday added to the list, which makes them more attractive to travellers.

Joanne Dooey, president of the Scottish Passenger Agents Association, said: “Portugal is a perennial favourite destination for Scots who love to travel to the Algarve in particular.

“It’s disappointing that Portugal has not been included in countries which Scots can visit without self-isolation, but we understand that this is due to infection levels in the north of the country remaining high.

“Many of those who were going to Portugal have opted for a destination which is included on the ‘safe’ list or are putting their plans back to 2021.”

Portugal led the early way on test and trace and its death rates have been among the lowest in Europe.

And while there have been increased incidences around its capital Lisbon, the number of daily cases nationally is now down to 127.

READ MORE: Scottish Government reintroduces Spain 14-day quarantine period

This is its lowest rate since May 1 with the Algarve, Madeira and the Azores virtually free of Covid-19 cases.

Scottish Justice Humza Yousaf said: “Infection prevalence rates in countries across the world are being closely monitored.

“Where there is clear evidence that it is safe to do so, we will add further countries and we are now able to do that for Estonia, Latvia, Slovenia, Slovakia and St Vincent and The Grenadines.

“The virus remains infectious and deadly and, with quarantine restrictions being lifted, we must not become complacent.

“Anyone travelling should follow public health advice at all times including wearing face coverings, avoiding crowded places, washing hands and surfaces, staying two metres apart and, if they get symptoms, self-isolating and immediately registering for a test.”

The existing list of overseas destinations where those arriving in Scotland are exempt from self-isolation is:

Andorra; Antigua and Barbuda; Aruba; Australia; Austria; The Bahamas; Barbados; Belgium; Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba; Croatia; Curaçao; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Denmark; Dominica; Faroe Islands; Fiji; Finland; France; French Polynesia; Germany; Greece; Greenland; Grenada; Guadeloupe; Hong Kong; Hungary; Iceland; Italy; Jamaica; Japan; Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg; Macau; Malta; Mauritius; Monaco; The Netherlands ; New Caledonia; New Zealand; Norway; Poland ; Réunion; San Marino; Seychelles; Spain; St Barthélemy; St Kitts and Nevis; St Lucia; St Pierre and Miquelon; South Korea; Switzerland; Taiwan; Trinidad and Tobago; Turkey; Vatican City State and Vietnam.

The 14 UK overseas territories also on the list of exemptions are: Akrotiri and Dhekelia; Anguilla; Bermuda; British Antarctic Territory; British Indian Ocean Territory; British Virgin Islands; Cayman Islands; Falkland Islands; Gibraltar; Montserrat; Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands; Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands and the Turks and Caicos Islands.