Nicola Sturgeon has been named Scottish Politician of the Year, winning the coveted award for a record fifth time.

The First Minister was presented with the honour for her continuing efforts to ensure the wishes of Scottish voters are respected in the Brexit process.

She saw off competition from Scottish Conservative leader Jackson Carlaw and Scottish Green MSP John Finnie – who was nominated for his success in getting legislation to introduce a ban on smacking introduced, as well as for spearheading controversial plans to allow councils to bring in a workplace parking levy.

The National: Scottish Tory leader Jackson Carlaw was beaten by SturgeonScottish Tory leader Jackson Carlaw was beaten by Sturgeon

Sturgeon was one of four winners for the SNP at the awards ceremony, which is organised by The Herald newspaper, with Joanna Cherry, Scottish Finance Secretary Derek Mackay and Glasgow City Council leader Susan Aitken all being recognised for their achievements.

Collecting her award at a ceremony at Edinburgh's Prestonfield House Hotel, the SNP leader said it was "greatly appreciated".

She said: "Nice though this is, I think I probably speak for all the politicians in the room when I say we don't come into politics to win awards, we much prefer winning elections."

Sturgeon added: "There is lots that divides us, we are all in politics for different reasons, regardless of that all of us come into politics to do the best for our constituents, and to do the very best we can for those we serve – in my case and the case of my party to stand up for Scotland and our right to choose our own future."

Meanwhile, Cherry was named Best Scot at Westminster for her role in legal challenges to the Brexit process, which ultimately resulted in the UK Supreme Court ruling that Boris Johnson's decision to prorogue Parliament was unlawful.

Mackay was presented with the Politics in Business award following efforts to keep the Ferguson shipyard on the Clyde open, with the Scottish Government having signed a contract to take the yard into public ownership after it went into administration.

The Finance Secretary also won plaudits for his involvement in plans to transform the site of the Michelin tyre factory in Dundee, which is due to close in June 2020, into an innovation and skills hub.

Aitken, the first-ever SNP leader of Glasgow City Council, meanwhile was named Scottish Local Politician of the Year, after her administration settled a long-standing equal pay claim brought by female workers, with thousands of women receiving settlements averaging at £35,000.

Sir Paul Grice, who stepped down as Holyrood's chief executive in June after 20 years in the role, was honoured with a special lifetime achievement award.

He said he was "delighted and even slightly embarrassed" to receive the honour.

"I'm thrilled to be recognised this way," Grice continued, stressing he was "conscious it is a reflection of the achievements of the Scottish Parliament as well as my own efforts".

Carlaw, who became the Scottish Conservatives' interim leader after Ruth Davidson stepped down from the role suddenly, was named as the Donald Dewar Debater of the Year for his performances in the Holyrood chamber.

The National: Ross GreerRoss Greer

Scottish Green MSP Ross Greer was named the One to Watch, following a year which saw him engage in a spat with Good Morning Britain presenter Piers Morgan and lead the campaign against plans to build a tourist park on Loch Lomond.

Tory MSP Edward Mountain, the convener of the Scottish Parliament's Rural Economy and Connectivity Committee, was declared the Committee MSP of the Year, while his Conservative colleague Murdo Fraser was named E-Politician of the Year.

Labour's Jackie Baillie collected the honour for Community MSP of the Year and the British Heart Foundation Scotland was given the award for Public Campaign of the Year in recognition of the charity's efforts to increase CPR training, with schools across Scotland now teaching the lifesaving skill to students.