THE SNP have announced their candidate in the Shetland by-election for the Holyrood seat vacated by LibDem MSP Tavish Scott.

Tom Wills has been chosen to contest the seat, which has been held by the LibDems – who won with a majority of 44% at the last election – since the creation of the Scottish Parliament in 1999.

Held on August 29, Shetland voters will elect their new MSP at the by-election following Scott's resignation to move to a new job as head of external affairs for Scottish Rugby.

Wills beat Fergus Mutch, the SNP's head of communications at Holyrood, to secure the party's nomination.

The Shetland-born candidate, whose father is a former Shetland councillor and whose mum was a teacher on the islands, works in the offshore renewables industry and currently manages offshore operations on the Shetland Tidal Array in Bluemull Sound.

READ MORE: Shetland by-election for LibDem Tavish Scott's seat announced

Commenting on his selection, Wills said: "I am honoured to be standing as the SNP candidate in Shetland – it's a great privilege to be given the opportunity to represent the community that I call home.

"Growing up in Shetland was a fantastic experience – this is where my wife and I want to raise our family and I would love to help ensure that Shetland continues to provide a great start for future generations.

"Shetland is ready for change – we need an MSP who will work constructively with the Scottish Government to ensure that our voice is heard loud and clear."

Congratulating Wills on candidacy, Mutch tweeted: “Local lad, clued up on the issues that matter to the islands. He’s a formidable candidate and I have no doubt he’ll work hard for Shetland.”

On Thursday, the Scottish Conservatives announced that Shetland native Brydon Goodlad, 47, who works in the building trade, will attempt to win the seat for the Tories.

Depute convener of Shetland Islands Council Beatrice Wishart will contest the by-election for the LibDems.

Her fellow councillor Johan Adamson will contest the by-election for Scottish Labour while two other councillors, Ryan Thomson and Ian Scott, are standing as independents.

Ukip have put up Stuart Martin to contest the seat.