THE SALTIRE Society Housing design awards 2019 shortlist has been announced.

Recognising everything from single dwellings in the Highlands to large-scale commercial city developments, the awards have celebrated good housing for the people of Scotland for over 80 years.

Awards and commendations will be awarded at a ceremony hosted by the Saltire Society at the Scottish Parliament on June 25.

The Chair’s Medal will also be awarded alongside the CIOB Good Building Award.

Chair of the 2019 panel is Edinburgh International Book Festival’s Director, Nick Barley.

“The Saltire Housing Design Awards celebrate houses that improve lives; new houses that make Scotland a better place to live,” he said.

“To achieve that takes good design, certainly, but also partnerships with developers, housebuilders, clients and communities.

“The buildings on this year’s shortlists are inspirations for everyone fighting for Scotland to be a better place for its citizens.

“They are affordable, accessible, high quality homes in which residents told us they love living. I hope that many more Scottish housebuilders will find ways to work with architects of this quality in the future.”

The Scottish Government sponsors the Innovation in Housing award which sees a cash prize of £1500 awarded to the winner.

The shortlisted in the Multiple category are:

  • Anderston Phase 4 & 5, Collective Architecture, which has worked to rejuvenate Glasgow’s great thoroughfare, Argyle Street, through 14 years of work.
  • Brunswick Road, Edinburgh, ISA Architecture & Design, which provided tenure blind properties with a reduced height to remain sympathetic to location.
  • Laurieston 1C, Glasgow, Page\Park Architects, which strove to honour the history of this urban site while providing sustainable affordable housing. 
  • Kesson Court, Elgin, ICOSIS Architects,which worked to create community in a fully accessible, bright space and communal garden. 
  • Pennywell, Edinburgh, Barton Willmore, which provided tenure-blind neighbourhood within the wider Pennywell project with a focus on safety and accessibility.
  • Raining’s Stairs, Inverness, Trail Architects, which tackled an incredibly challenging landscape with an innovative response, creating the maximum number of properties.
  • Powell Hall and Whitehorn Halls, St. Andrews, HLM Architects, which create excellent environments for students directly from their university.

The shortlisted in the Single category are:

  • An Cala, Skye, Dualchas Architects, a home and guest-house, which offers a feeling of being on the very edge of the sea and rocky shore.
  • The Black House, Skye, Dualchas Architects, which connects sea and coast with an open, sleekly designed home.
  • Handmade House, Lewis, Porteous Architecture LLP, a converted mission hall created and built by an architect couple on a challenging budget.
  • The Invisible House, Skye, Rural Design, which created a striking structure which complements its dramatic landscape on the Isle of Skye.
  • Loch Leven Low Energy Home, Perth and Kinross, Kirsty Maguire Architect Ltd, a comfortable, low maintenance, low impact,contemporary home for a retired couple.
  • Sydserf, North Berwick, Sutherland & Co., a contemporary, child-focused extension on a rural home for a growing extended family.

Shortlisted for Innovation in Housing are:

  • Admiral Street, Glasgow, which was constructed on unused urban land using an innovative hybrid of solutions manufactured offsite and CCG’s ‘iQ’ enhanced closed panel timber frame system to provide 35 one and two-bedroom apartments in a mix of social and mid-market rent.
  • Auchineden Barn, Glasgow, which aimed for the aim Passivhaus “Enerphit” Standard which requires that the annual energy load for heating is not more that 25kwhrs per annum in a conversion. This standard was met within an urban context and in a typical farm building.